Fayette EC Names Scholarship Winners

All News

Since 1999, Fayette Electric Cooperative has awarded scholarships to deserving high school graduates. FEC aims to reach students at critical points in their education as they are making decisions about college, a degree and a future career. These scholarships are awarded to students whose parents or guardians reside full-time in FEC’s service area and are members of the cooperative.

The winners of the Fayette Electric Rural Scholarship are: Tamara D. Otto, Schulenburg High School; Kylee A. Kelley, La Grange High School; Kannyn K. Goehring, Round Top-Carmine High School; and Campbell L. Youens, La Grange High School.

Fayette EC also wants to make sure their scholarship programs keep pace with the pathway today’s students are exploring. As of 2022, FEC began offering scholarship opportunities for high school seniors who would attend an accredited trade or technical institution or a certification program or associate in applied science program at a college or university. 

The winners of the Fayette Electric Trade and Technical School Scholarship are: Tadan C. Alvarado; Flatonia High School; and Jacob Polasek, Round Top-Carmine High School.

FEC General Manager Gary Don Nietsche said, “For 24 years now, the Fayette Electric Cooperative Scholarship program has given $111,000 in scholarships to children of Fayette EC members as a way to give back to the communities we serve. We are very proud to award these scholarships to these deserving students and wish them the best of luck in their future careers.”

Organized in 1937, Fayette Electric Cooperative provides reliable, cost-effective service to over 10,000 members in portions of Fayette, Bastrop, Lee, Washington, Austin, Colorado, and Lavaca counties. FEC owns and maintains over 2,995 miles of line and serves over 15,940 meters.