Fayette Electric Cooperative, Inc. (FEC) is governed by a board of seven (7) directors, each of whom is elected from one of seven geographic districts.  Just like you, the directors are members of FEC.  They are elected to a three-year term and may be re-elected.  Directors are elected on a rotation basis so that there will always be members on the board who are knowledgeable of FEC’s operations. 

In accordance with Article III, Section 3.07 of the cooperative’s bylaws, district meetings are held not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days prior to the annual meeting at which Directors are to be elected.  District meetings start the important process of electing directors to represent you on the FEC Board of Directors.  With a process that is open and transparent, members select the director nominees at local district meetings.

Nominees selected at the district meetings will appear on the election ballot at the annual meeting held on the third Wednesday in July, where they are officially elected by the membership.

Additional nominations for directors for a particular district up for election may be made from the floor.  The person making a nomination from the floor, as well as the nominee, must reside in the district for which they are nominated.